Finishing, Waiting, and Changes

Lots of things are changing.

CPA Exam: I took the fourth and final section of the CPA exam! Now I’m just waiting to find out the results of the last three. Here are my scores and score predictions based on how I felt coming out of the exams:

FAR – Prediction: 85, Actual: 95

REG – Prediction: 75 (this could easily go either way, as I mentioned in a previous post), Actual: ?

BEC – Prediction: 95 (maybe this is an overly generous estimate, but I felt better about this than FAR), Actual: ?

AUD – Prediction: 82 (I’ll be surprised if I don’t pass, but it’s certainly possible), Actual: ?

According to Jeff over at Another71.com, score reports are predicted to be released fairly soon for Wave 1, which, for me, means I’ll probably see my BEC score within the next few days and REG at the beginning of next week.

Unfortunately, AUD will be Wave 2, so I won’t know how I did until mid-September.

That means I have no more CPA exam studying! It has been a serious chore for the sheer quantity of information covered. If I don’t pass any of the sections (REG?), it should be much easier to study the second time around just considering my familiarity with the topics. I certainly hope I passed all of the sections, but I’m not overly worried either way.

Moving: Saying goodbye to friends is proving to be more difficult and saddening than ever before. We LOVE our friends and don’t want to admit that we’ll probably never spend much time with many of them again. I’m confident we’ll make new friends where we’re moving, but that does little in terms of comfort.

Graduating: I’m within days of finishing my master’s degree! It’s just two final exams away, after which you may call me Master frugalCPA.

Money and Getting Out of Debt: I’ll soon be making money. It’s almost unreal, Friends! TheFieryOne might be even more excited than I am! We have over $30,000 in school loans. We’ll both be working full-time, so we should be able to get rid of our debt fairly quickly (possibly even during 2010). I’ll definitely document the journey.

A New Career - As you know, I’m super excited about starting a new career as an auditor at a “Big Four” firm! I’m curious to meet the people I’ll be working with, and I’m looking forward to being part of a team.

More Time for Future Posts Such As: Score results, ways I can start my career on the right footing, our choice of apartment, things I learn at work, business book reviews, and more.

Explore posts in the same categories: Accounting, Auditing and Taxes, Career Progress and Ideas, CPA Exam Prep and Progress

4 Comments on “Finishing, Waiting, and Changes”

  1. Clint Says:

    Frugal,

    I’m interested in your journey to one of the four. I will be graduating Master’s this fall and am a bit concerned about employment/hiring prospects beyond what I’m doing now. Any thoughts. Thanks

  2. Revanche Says:

    Congrats on completing that last section!

  3. Carrie Says:

    WOW! How in the world are you taking these so fast? Are you working or is your brain way more efficient than mine???

  4. frugalcpa Says:

    Carrie,
    I’ve been in school full-time for my master’s degree (until today! I’m done!) and not working. I pushed myself to do all four tests over the summer (one in May, two in July, and one in August) so that I wouldn’t have to worry about it when I start work in less than two weeks. Everyone I talked to said to get it done before I started working if possible.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

