“Can’t Buy Me Love”

I found a list of questions about money on Jenny Blake’s blog, Life After College. All are good questions that made me think about my relationship with money. Here’s my answer to question #1:

What is important to you about money?

With money, TheFieryOne and I have access to life’s basic necessities, such as food, shelter, chocolate, etc. Because the world is what it is, without money we’d either have to rely on wilderness survival skills (which is admittedly lacking at that level of self-sufficiency) or charity. Neither is a great option, so we need money.

In addition to basic necessities, money also provides access to some of the things we love, however unnecessary they may be. Many frugal types forego traveling because it costs a good amount of money. But we’re willing to sacrifice other things for the adventure, the learning, and the eye-opening experiences we have whenever we travel. I’ve never regretted spending money on a vacation, especially when family has been involved.

Back to the idea of charity — Rather than require charity from others, TheFieryOne and I want to be able to be charitable with our money, time, and service. We have been blessed with health and a reasonable understanding of, and respect for, money, and it’s only right that we do our best to add value to the economy in the form of work and service in exchange for money and satisfaction, respectively.

On the flipside, I hope we’d be humble enough to accept charity if we needed it.

Money isn’t everything. It’s a means to an end. It doesn’t, in itself, represent anything desireable. It only allows us to purchase goods and services, which are necessary and sometimes highly valued, but still not the end-goal.

My end-goals include: family togetherness, friendship, happiness, learning, and good memories. Money can’t buy any of these things directly. But it’s important because it can help support these things if used wisely.

The Beatles sang it well:

Can’t buy me love, love
Can’t buy me love

I’ll buy you a diamond ring my friend if it makes you feel alright
I’ll get you anything my friend if it makes you feel alright
‘Cause I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love

I’ll give you all I got to give if you say you love me too
I may not have a lot to give but what I got I’ll give to you
I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love

Can’t buy me love, everybody tells me so
Can’t buy me love, no no no, no

Say you don’t need no diamond ring and I’ll be satisfied
Tell me that you want the kind of thing that money just can’t buy
I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love

Explore posts in the same categories: Frugal Living, Savings, Investing, and Money

2 Comments on ““Can’t Buy Me Love””

  1. Jenny Blake Says:

    First, thanks for the shout-out! Second, I love the end-goals you listed – I share many of the same ones: happiness, learning, fun, travel and security. Good memories is a fantastic addition – I’m adding it to my list! And great choice of song lyrics, btw 😀

  2. frugalCPA Says:

    @Jenny: Thanks for the blog fodder and the nice comment. I realized one day while I was sitting on the bus, fuming over a roommate’s inconsiderate habits, that in the end, the only permanent things in life are our memories, our knowledge, and our relationships. So it wasn’t worth it to be mad and make bad memories for myself and my roommate. Instead, by focusing on the positive and learning to laugh inwardly at the situation by taking a step back, I was able to salvage our friendship and “make good memories.” It’s an awesome perspective – at least it has worked well for me.


Leave a Reply

