Money and Music

When I was about twelve, I joined Columbia and BMG Music clubs to get all the free CDs they offered in exchange for buying a few at full price. BMG had by far the better deal, but that’s not my point.

My point is that I once was willing to spend money on music, and now I’m not. I have probably 200 CDs, and that’s after the great purge of 2001 when I sold half of my CDs.

With music so readily available online, it’s hard for me to spend money on it. I’ve never purchased a song on iTunes because whenever I want to hear a song I can find it for free on youtube, playlist.com, dailymotion, various artist websites, etc.

True, I can’t listen to songs that way in the car, but I don’t mind the radio, and I can always borrow books on CD from the library.

I’m definitely less into music than I once was, but I still find new songs to love here and there. And I need your input to help me in two ways:

1 – Are there other ways to listen to music for free (legal ways)? Do you spend money on music?

2 – What are your favorite songs? Anything I should get to know?

Explore posts in the same categories: Frugal Living

4 Comments on “Money and Music”

  1. K-money Says:

    My roommate manages the music in the house. She trades CDs with friends and picks the songs she likes. She also gets iTunes gift cards as presents because people know she likes them; they don’t cost her anything and then she doesn’t receive gifts of more stuff she doesn’t need. Her taste is really eclectic and has really broadened my music listening experience. I have Comcast and love to listen to their music channels when I am home alone. It’s the only way I ever get to listen to opera.

  2. asgreen Says:

    I would love to sign up for your rss feed but I can’t find a link on your blog. Am I just being an idiot?

  3. frugalCPA Says:

    @Asgreen: I just added an RSS feed url to the top of the sidebar. It’s https://frugalcpa.wordpress.com/feed

    Thanks for your interest!

  4. Brandon Says:

    Bro, check out pandora.com
    I’m sure you’ve heard of it…right?

    Good Luck with everything…i’m just starting up my cpa studies now! Whew…let’s do this!


Leave a Reply

