Less Can Be More, Right?

Since I joined the blogging community one month ago, I’ve been observing the various styles of blogging and trying to decide what my approach should be. I’ve decided that I can best contribute to the blogosphere by posting and commenting when I really have something worthwhile to say, not just for the sake of posting itself.

That said, I recognize that it takes effort to come up with good content, and so my plan is not to just wait until ideas hit me, but rather to actively seek interesting post ideas and then spend sufficient energy to produce posts that I can read later and be at least marginally happy with.

From now on, I won’t try to post every day or even every other day. I’ll post when I’ve had a chance to write something worthwhile. That’ll give me more time to study for school, to study for the CPA exam, and to comment on your posts.

In other words, I have more exams this week. Fun times!

Explore posts in the same categories: Frugal Living

10 Comments on “Less Can Be More, Right?”

  1. Miss M Says:

    If you look at my archives you’ll see I posted like mad when I first started, desperate to put up content. Now I aim for 1 post a day, that’s enough. I keep an idea list of posts, I have more ideas than time to write. Then I’ll pick out a few for the coming week and try to get them started the weekend before. I confess I’m a bit behind this week, I hate scrambling at the last minute.

  2. shtinkykat Says:

    Good luck on your exams, FCPA. If this isn’t your day job, I say post when you can. I’ve been out of ideas for the past few weeks so my posting has gone down as well.

  3. Revanche Says:

    I generally subscribe to the ebb and flow school of blogging: if I’m lucky and/or bored and it falls on a weekend, I prep or flesh out ideas that might last a week. Random thoughts often fill in the blanks, but not always.

  4. Revanche Says:

    P.S. Good luck on your exams!

  5. Manshu Says:

    Good luck with your exams!

  6. FFB Says:

    It’s good to have constant flow but at the same time it should be good. I struggle with this too. I’m not a natural writer by nature. One thing to help is try to write in advance and schedule it if you can (I can’t always do this but I try).

  7. frugalcpa Says:

    @Miss M: “I have more ideas than time to write.” That’s awesome. I do too, currently, and it’s frustrating not to have the time to make the posts into something I can be proud of. So I’m cutting back to make better content. I’ll always have to just envy your one/day abilities!

    @schtinkycat: Definitely not the day job. Thanks for the good advice!

    @Revanche: You always have great, real-life scenarios to blog about. I like the depth of content you provide – makes me feel like you’re a real blog buddy!

    @Manshu: Thanks! One down (yesterday), one to go (tomorrow).

    @FFB: I love writing in advance when I have the time. I think I’m going to sacrifice a little more time on Saturday mornings for the cause.

    Thanks for all of your comments!

  8. Jr Says:

    Congratulations on taking on the CPA exam – oh, and you’re more than welcome to get in touch via email if you need any tips or tricks. Helping CPA exam candidates pass is my day job so if I can offer any insight, I’m definitely willing to help.

    Trust me when I say that taking the exam has to be your NUMBER ONE PRIORITY – don’t worry about your readers, they’ll be there when you pass (at least I will!)

    Writing about your experience can sometimes be a great way to release some of the stress of taking the exam, and if that’s the case, I encourage you to take advantage of that outlet but please, please, please for your own sake don’t allow your blog to be a distraction during this time. The exam needs your full focus – get it over with and you’ll never have to worry about it again!

    Good luck to you and I’m sure you’ll do just fine!

    Adrienne aka Jr Deputy Accountant
    adrienne@rogercpareview.com

  9. accountingelf Says:

    There’s always a balance. Sometimes I enjoy just reading random thoughts too, so you could consider trying for a few quality posts a week, but also shorter, not-quite-perfect blurbs in between.


  10. I know exactly what you mean. Blogging takes time, sometimes takes so much time that you might nowt have time to study for CPA exam 🙂


Leave a Reply

